Paula, Professor Pocket and Raising a bilingual baby

Is anyone out there?

Pregnancy and it’s adverse effects on logic… September 11, 2008

Filed under: Personal — Paula G, Professor Pocket and My Pregnancy @ 5:24 pm
Tags: ,

I’ve officially diagnosed myself with pregnancy brain. I don’t think this is a proven condition acknowledged by medical professionals, but I do know that I have it. My official definition, if those in the medical field would like to add it to their reference books is:

 

Pregnancy Brain: A loss of logic, common sense and reason due to the increased hormones traveling through a woman’s body during pregnancy.

 

Example: I work on the 28th floor of a very large building in LA. On multiple occasions throughout the past few months I have

 

  1. Gotten off on the wrong floor, anywhere from 25 to 27.
  2. Not noticed I am on the wrong floor and actually made my way to where I believe my office is.
  3. Walked into an office with a resident that is shocked to see me enter as if I own the place.

 

I have also forgotten how to spell…it’s true! I have become addicted to spell check because when I am typing these days my brain is only half focused on what I am writing while the other half is wondering what life will be like with Baby G and what Baby G will look like and will Baby G come out healthy. I make silly mistakes like their and there….

 

I am hoping the condition passes with the birth of Baby G because I worry that my new found air headed self does not make for a sharp attentive mother. I joke of course, but it has been interesting to notice changes in my sense of reason. Only 11 weeks to go….

 

5 Responses to “Pregnancy and it’s adverse effects on logic…”

  1. Nathalie Says:

    Funny! The only difference after you give birth is that your child can witness all your goofs and remind you of them 🙂

  2. Ro Says:

    I hate to break it to you, but it’s been 14 months since I gave birth and my brain never returned to it’s former glory. Why just the other day I put the can opener in the pencil drawer, misplaced the toothpaste and forgot an important appointment. I’m hoping once she’s got her mouthful of teeth in I’ll get some rest and possibly some brain cells back. (It’s all worth it though! Congrats!)

  3. rickey Says:

    It’s true — there is baby brain drain. Then post baby brain drain.
    Just keeps going…..kinda like that battery.

  4. Maribel Says:

    you just wait till you are sleep deprived, than you’ll see how goofy you can really get…. sorry, it’s the truth 🙂

  5. Leah Says:

    Yes! This is exactly what I was talking about–the absentmindedness coupled with a consuming fixation on all things baby. I too suspect that this is only the beginning…


Leave a Reply

