Paula, Professor Pocket and Raising a bilingual baby

Is anyone out there?

A Baby Story…. October 8, 2008

Filed under: Personal — Paula G, Professor Pocket and My Pregnancy @ 10:17 pm
Tags: , , , ,
32 Weeks...

32 Weeks...

I recently made the mistake of watching “A Baby Story” on the TLC channel. I couldn’t get through the whole hour.

I’m sure anyone who’s ever had a baby or dreamed about having a baby has watched this show. For those who aren’t pregnant it will make you long to feel what it’s like to be pregnant and will cause you to call your husband/partner and request that you have a baby asap. For those of us already pregnant, and swollen and emotional it makes us cry. For me the tears weren’t just of joy either.

I have done an amazing job (and will try to continue to do so) of staying positive about my labor experience. Early on in the pregnancy I was so desperate for pregnancy knowledge that I bought and read any book I could get my hands on. Once I realized that sometimes you can reach a breaking point where you just have too much information, I stopped reading, stopped wondering and decided to just enjoy my pregnancy, enjoy the changes in my body and put aside the reality that I will someday in the future have to push this baby out.

Watching “A Baby Story” somehow made everything too real for me. I think I need to hold on to the fact that I still have about 2 months left before I need to face labor, so why worry about it now?

What I noticed not only about “A Baby Story” but also about talking to women who have already had children, is that everyone wants to share their horror story. Is there some sort of prize you existing mothers have for sharing your birth story and making sure that the mother-to-be with whom you are sharing the story understands that yours is THE WORST birth story known to man? I don’t get it? Every mom I have talked to says something along the lines of “It’s the worst thing ever.” Really? Geez, then why do women keep doing it?

Call me naive, but I need to, for my own sanity, believe that labor and birthing is the most natural thing a woman’s body can do and that my body will know what to do when the time comes. Not to say that modern medicine shouldn’t play a role, but I certainly don’t want to go into the experience with the baggage of every mom I have talked to. So as the day approaches, I will continue with my positive visualization, continue to work with my doula (yes I decided to have one) and my husband to prepare my mind and body for the experience and just hope for the best. And if all hell breaks loose, there is always the epidural. To happy labors…

 

6 Responses to “A Baby Story….”

  1. evenshine Says:

    This is SO true. The best thing I took with me into my two labors was what my childbirth educator tried (futilely, for some in the class) to instill: women have done this for many, many years. In fields, huts, and tenement houses. With no doctors, and nothing sterilized. If they can…you know the rest. Good luck with yours!

  2. Angela Says:

    I loved being pregnant! It’s a miracle!!!! You’re so smart to put down the books and enjoy it. I had both of my boys naturally and while there are parts of my labor that I try to forget, it was the most amazing accomplishment of my life and there’s a sense of pride in knowing that I just gave birth to this perfect little person. You will discover strenghts you never knew you had (as will your husband). I think it’s a bonding moment for most women, so just try to ignore the horror stories. I know it’s scary, but everything will turn out perfect and soon you’ll have your own story to tell.

  3. mom jorge Says:

    you will do fine if you just keep focused that that little bundle of joy at the end!!!

  4. tati Says:

    I wish you the best! I think giving birth is so wonderful! I have had 3 wonderful experiences and I was able to feel all the pain without pain meds. I think you are doing a great job of looking forward to it positively!

  5. Carla Says:

    I read your blog often because I’m a fan of Professor Pocket and just wanted to finally make a comment. I felt the same way you do when I was pregnant with my now 15 month old. People complained about everything – the labor, the sleepless nights, the whining, the this, the that. I couldn’t stand it. I wanted to ask these people if they didn’t know what they were signing up for. I knew labor wasn’t going to be a walk in the park but it is part of the journey to meeting your wonderful baby. Sure there was pain but you forget that so quickly it’s amazing. And like evenshine said, women have been doing this forever in the worst of conditions so the experience here in western culture is cake compared. Good luck!

  6. janice montes Says:

    Hooray for you! Pregnancy is one of the most wonderful times in your life. Be in the moment now and during labor. It is truly a unique experience how our bodies know exactly what to do. Hold on to Joe’s hand and look forward to the moment the three of you are hugging together.


Leave a Reply

