Paula, Professor Pocket and Raising a bilingual baby

Is anyone out there?

Been a while… April 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Paula G, Professor Pocket and My Pregnancy @ 1:36 am
Tags:
My cool little man...

My cool little man...

It has been quite a while since I’ve blogged. I’m sure it’s mostly due to the fact that I am enamored with my 4 month old and spending every second I can playing, reading, talking, walking with him. In addition I think I go through phases where I wonder if anyone reads this, or cares to hear about my day, my thoughts and opinions.

Anyway, Leo is sleeping and I’m actually not tired enough to take a nap with him, so here I am, back in the blog world.

My maternity leave officially ends tomorrow. I can’t believe it, time goes by way to quickly and you can’t do anything to stop it. I was looking back at pictures of myself the night I went into labor and the first time I saw Leo and it seems like a different person or time of my life for some reason. Things change so quickly, you barely have time to take it all in.

Leo is changing way too quickly. Every single day he surprises me with something new, a new sound, a new look. Lately, it’s rolling over and now sucking his thumb! It’s so amazing to me how curious he is already at only 4 months old. He wants to examine and touch everything he sees, and I can look in his face and see his expression; he’s trying to figure out the world around him. It’s overwhelming for me sometimes to think that I have to be the one to prepare him to enter the world and survive it! I am dedicated to do so, to making sure he is armed with the confidence, intelligence and sense of humor you need to move ahead and be happy in this crazy world.

And I am trying to remember all those characteristics in myself as I face next week, my first week back at work after 4 1/2 months! Logically I know it will be fine. I know Leo will survive the days without me and I’ll survive the days away from him, but I still can’t get that sick feeling out of my belly. I figure I’ll have to get through the first couple of weeks and then it will get easier and easier as time passes. I’ll keep you posted, will let you know how it all goes.

 

3 Responses to “Been a while…”

  1. Nathalie Says:

    I love reading your blog, P, and I imagine Leo will as well when he gets older. And yes, time does seem to whip by when you have kids.

    I am thinking about you this week.

  2. Jackie Says:

    I love reading your blog too! Sorry I missed your call last night – will call you soon to find out how you did at work this week – you were on my mind! xx


Leave a comment